

The Jazz Ensemble



The rhythm section of a jazz ensemble typically consists of piano, bass, and drums.

Jazz ensembles with less than 10 members are referred to by the number of musicians in the group:

Duo = two musicians

Trio = three musicians

Quartet = four musicians

Quintet = five musicians

Sextet = six musicians

Septet = seven musicians

Octet = eight musicians

Nonet = nine musicians

Jazz Ensembles with 10 or more members, who are divided into sections, are often called big bands.







Quartet